Love Yourself

Love yourself.

Love who you are.

Be yourself.

Love what your body can do, not how it looks.

 

I would be a liar if I said that I loved every bit of myself and how my body looks. I’m trying to love it, but it’s hard. I think I’ll get there someday, but I can’t say it’s the easiest road I’ve ever walked down.

 

Changing your way of thinking from a critical voice in your head is hard. I think we grow up thinking we can always do so much better, that we are so used to seeing our flaws. I bet I wouldn’t be speaking only for myself when I say I am often embarrassed or I down play things that I’m good at. I will often try to push my accomplishments aside so I don’t offend others, or so I don’t outshine others.

 

I think I’ve written this before, but I’ll say it again because it’s something I try to think about daily and it’s so true. Maya Angelou once said: “Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness, that frightens us most. We ask ourselves, ‘Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, and famous?’ Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that people won’t feel insecure around you. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us; it’s in all of us. And when we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.”

 

 

We grow up being told how to fix so much of everything that we forget to celebrate how amazing we are; almost as if it becomes awkward to celebrate it; as if we are selfish for celebrating it. We aren’t. We deserve it. I’m finding, as I get healthier, I am realizing that we deserve more in life. When you are stuck in a place with Ed, or anything else for that matter, you are stuck and beaten down, and you don’t have to have that. As I learn, through group and therapy, you deserve more, you deserve the best. Now, it’s hard to come to terms with that because a lot is changing and that means that you are changing, but in the end, it will all be positive.

 

Often, I walk around with the shame of this eating disorder thinking, “what will they think of me when they find out, they will all know” but truthfully, they all love me now, so maybe they will see that eating disorders aren’t the stereotype we all think they are. I hope one day that I can look at some people and say, “yep, so I am in recovery from an eating disorder” and it won’t bother me. I think I’m getting closer to that, but I’m not quite there. I’m certainly farther than I was before, so I can say that things are much, much better!

 

As I was sitting and working on my summer classes I came across a post that really made me sick. Demi Levato is a great artist who should be praised for her strength. She has spoken out about eating disorders and body image and is actively working to improve the self esteem of young girls. She was recently featured on the cover of Cosmo and this is how it turned out:

 

To me, this is sad. For a magazine to interview her about her bulimia and then shrink her down is just disgusting. What this does tell me is that there won’t be a point (any time soon) that we can hope for the media to take our side and help us out to see real beauty. Some campaigns are doing it, and that is great, but the vast majority are not. So, this tells me that we just need our voices to get louder and stronger for younger girls out there. We can’t count on the media to help us out, so it looks like we have to do this ourselves. If we can begin to let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others. If we can start to love who we are, we can start to show that it’s okay to love who you are.

You look great today! 🙂

I challenge you to think of 3 positive things about yourself a pass a compliment… you never know what it could do for a person!

Leave a Reply

