Hello, 2013!

A new year and a new start.

Now that 2013 has come, many people are making their resolutions. Here we are, faced with diets and losing weight again. This is the time of the year I hate. Especially when I’m at the point in my meal plan where it’s “stay on the big plan and don’t veer off.”

I understand the concept of New Year’s resolutions, but what I don’t understand is the concept of hating our bodies and ourselves and putting our bodies through hell. A resolution is a goal to start something new and to begin again. That is something that is great, but so much of America takes it go great lengths to try to become something or somebody of whom they think will make them happy. The loss of weight won’t do it…. I’ve been a 0, 00 and I wasn’t happy – it just isn’t going to happen. Happiness doesn’t come with a number, it comes from your heart and what you value. It comes from what you want in life and what you see important in life. Happiness is not an end result, it’s a state of being and a road to travel.

This year is going to be easier than other years in the sense of the exercise season. Last year I was still in skinny camp finishing my weight gaining and on the super meal plan. Turning off the diet commercials was painful, but this year, I can just smirk and feel sorry for those who fall into it and think about how I wish they could see that the dreadful process of slaving at the gym and restricting food won’t make them happy. In fact, you’re making yourself miserable and slowing your metabolism!!!! I’m sure they don’t believe a word that I say, but I’m STILL working with a dietitian to fix my metabolism from restriction! And, the only way to increase your metabolism to correctly burn calories is to EAT!

So, my goals for this year is to find ways of being happy. To do things that increase happiness. To say “No” more often and do things that involve bringing smiles to faces. Why should we drudge through our days and spend time being unhappy where we are? Why should we struggle with what we hate or dislike? It’s all in how we look at things. I’m not here to impress anyone. I have to accept myself. I can’t do much in this world if I don’t accept myself and be happy with myself. I have to live with myself forever. Working out for hours a day to try to “look good” for someone else does nothing for me. It doesn’t make me love myself more, or be happier with who I am. I am with me forever and that is a long time. I can’t do for others until I do for myself and love myself.

My goal this year is to get closer to self-acceptance and, if I’m lucky, to achieve it. My goal is to help others see how important it is to love yourself. Marianne Williamson once said, Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine, as children do. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.”

I’ve said this quote many times and I think it speaks volumes. When we love ourselves, and we show people that it’s okay to have self-love, we allow others to see the pride that we can feel in ourselves. We give permission to accept our fears and failures and not be embarrassed about what we are not, and what we have become. Nobody lives a perfect life, and if you think you do, you are kidding yourself. Nobody is inherently happy either, and if you think you are, you are kidding yourself. We have to work to make ourselves happy and be the person we want to be… but in that working, we have to be willing to accept ourselves for the person we are. We have to be willing to accept ourselves – flaws and all. We have to be willing to stop comparing ourselves and judging ourselves based on other people around us. We are all children of God and we are all different and made to be perfect in our own way. If we were made to be the same, we would be that way, but we aren’t – our world would be so boring that way.

So, I’m moving away from health and fitness in my resolutions and working on getting closer to God and finding more happiness. I haven’t worked out the details yet, but at least I have a goal of some sort! 🙂 1. follow my meal plan as well as I can…. 2. get closer to God by asking Him for help in doing so!

I’ve set up a little advice for myself for this coming year. Take it if you’d like:

  1. Choose to be happy! – We can make choices based on our ways of thinking. Our mood is directly related to our attitude. We can choose happiness. photo13
  2. Being strong means letting go – Sometimes we have to let go of things to move on. We don’t have to fight every battle and we can choose to move forward and not stand in the same place.photo12
  3. Accept your past – you were there – it can’t change – it’s time to walk forward – do it with a smile.photo10
  4. Be true to who YOU are – you have to live with YOU forever… if you aren’t true to you… forever will be a long time.photo9
  5. Learn when to walk away! Some things just can’t be changed!photo8
  6. Walking away from something unhealthy is BRAVE!photo 14
  7. You are not a failure until you stop trying! Never give up. You can pause and regroup… but don’t give up! photo7
  8. Everything always happens for a reason …. And it will all work out!photo6
  9. Only you can choose how you feel. You can choose to let others control you if you want. awesome
  10. Let your struggles become victories and inspire you! photo3
  11. All you have to give is the best you’ve got!!! Nothing more!!! photo15photo4
  12. God is always on your side. photo1
  13. Remember that life is beautiful! photo 5
  14. Remember to breathe photo11photo16
Leave a Reply

