Nothing Left

What do you do when you feel like you have nothing left?

I have been asking myself that a lot lately. I keep coming back to “trust in the Lord”.

Sometimes things get tough and it might feel like it’s too tough to handle. There are times when I feel tired and exhausted and like I’ve been hit by a truck – and then it went in reverse and ran me over again.

Sound familiar? Am I the only one here?

In honor of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. — This quote that ties in perfectly.

light

I have found that the times I become lost are the times I lost my focus on God. The times I find myself swallowed by the eating disorder are the times I’ve taken my eyes off God and did not make Him a priority. They are the times I’ve allowed the circumstances around me to overpower my thinking. I have found that I have to change my thinking and bring the light back into my life. God is light and God is love.

I have found that the eating disorder pulls me away from my faith. It pulls me away from many of the things I love when I get stuck in it. It has a way of doing that. It ties you up and makes you think it’s something good, but what it’s really doing is squeezing the life out of you. It started doing that. I lost trust in everyone. I lost faith in everything for a while. But not completely. Luckily God is stronger.

With the eating disorder, you need something bigger than yourself. There has to be something that is greater than man as you navigate recovery. I don’t know what yours might be, but mine is God. Whether you believe or not, God has a way of placing people in your path who will steer you in the right direction – hopefully you walk that path. Each person placed in your life has meaning and a purpose. Your job is to trust what God has for you and place your faith in Him. I have to learn to trust that again after stumbling.

king trust

Changing your thinking is not always easy. It’s not something that is permanent. Our first battle with anything is always in our own thinking. If you think it’s permanent, then it’s permanent. If you think you’ve reached your limits, then you have. If you think you’ll never get well or heal, then you won’t. You have to change your thinking before you can change anything else. Once you change your thinking, you can begin to see the obstacles and limitations as only temporary.

hope

Leave a Reply

