Rushing the Process

*Disclaimer: I’ve decided that I am currently dealing with life in the form of pictures!!! J I am now replying to emails and text messages in images!

I’m guilty of this. I’m the first to admit it. I can’t tell you how many times I sat in my therapist’s office telling her I’m sick of this process and asking her why I’m not done. In fact, I’ll give you a visual of how the conversation typically goes. It’s something along these lines….. (complete with illustrations):

Me: (agitated) I’m so sick of these appointments, and this eating disorder. I don’t want to come here anymore.

irritated meme

Psychologist: (in a calm voice) I know you are.

steph

Me: (slightly more agitated) I’m sick of talking about feelings and this process. I just want to be done with this already.

irritated meme2

Psychologist: (in a calm voice)I know you’re sick of this process. I know you want to be done. It’s a process and it can’t be rushed.

steph

Me: (super agitated) What? Who said I’m rushing it? I’m not rushing it.

frustrated

Psychologist: (in a calm voice) I’m just saying we can’t rush it. We’ve talked about this.

steph

Me: (super duper agitated) This is taking too long. I’ve been in therapy for too long. I should be done. I’m so sick of this. Why is it so hard? It needs to go faster. I should be almost done. Why am I not done yet?

irritated meme3

Psychologist: (still in a calm voice) It’s a process, Rachel. I know it’s hard. You’ve fought long and hard and you’re almost done. It’s not something that can be rushed. If you rush it, the learning won’t happen and it won’t stick.

steph

Me: (in a table flipping agitated voice) I’m sick of this process. It needs to be rushed. I’m done.

flip

Psychologist: (still in a calm voice) Take a look at the feelings list. What feelings are you feeling?

steph

I’m sure it doesn’t progress that quickly, but you get the point 🙂 I know I’m not the only person who has been sitting in a chair in therapy talking about how much we don’t like this process and how long it takes, and I could almost bet that I’m not the only person who is guilty of trying to rush the process.

So, we’ve all been told that rushing the process is a bad idea. Apparently the professionals were all right! I have found that rushing the process with anything in life is a bad idea.

Here are a few times when I’ve rushed the process and it didn’t turn out so well:

  • Cooking on the stove – I turned up the heat on my pancakes – it just burned and I set off the fire alarm in the ENTIRE DORM. #fail omg
  • A shower before work – I didn’t get all the conditioner out of my hair – that was a ponytail day. greasy hair
  • ACL surgery recovery – that set me back some time and reinjured me. (no picture necessary)
  • Baking – didn’t read the directions first (or skipped steps as I frequently do) and many items came out flat, bad tasting, or just gross.

cake

  • Text messages – unedited text messages sent with the use of Siri that accidentally had unwanted sexual innuendos. AWKWARD!awkward
  • Running – training too fast = injuries.
  • Driving on a back road – $159 later I regretted rushing that process home.

why

  • Learning to ride a bike – my sister tried to teach me and pushed me down a steep grassy hill. My mom’s flower bed fell victim to my poor steering.bike
  • Editing – rushing the process of editing for typos – they are easy to miss and can really “mess” up your day!

Espanol

The lesson learned???? Try to respect the process of recovery! Don’t rush it! 🙂

And double check your spelling! 🙂 nobody wants to read that their potato has 47 assholes 🙂

One thought on “Rushing the Process

Leave a Reply

